Anakin

I think Hayden Christensen does a good job as young Anakin Skywalker aka turning into Darth Vader. I think his performance is spot-on and very honest and true, so much that it makes many feel uncomfortable and so they run away and say he’s not a good actor.

A few scenes I really really love from Episodes II and III Star Wars:

  1. The killing confession. Anakin admits to Padme, in fact he breaks down because he is having such a hard time reconciling what he did with the values he has learned and treasured as a Jedi Padawan. This scene is so poignant and heart-wrenching.
  2. “I’m pregnant” I just am blown away every time I watch this scene. Hayden is so multi layered in his acting. It’s like he can see the whole projectory of Darth Vader’s future in that moment and yet he cannot do anything about it.
  3. Another excellent scene is the post-Sith transformation. It’s like he is in a trance, yet at the same time so poignantly aware…. he has willingly chosen to join the Sith Lord whom even he didn’t know was the Sith of the sith. It’s like he is sitting there letting all his humanity flow out, to become an evil automaton, a killing machine instrument enslaving his conscience to whatever Sidious demands. A slave again. WTF how did I get here? yet I am here, and here I must be he says with his body language.

It’s a very hard acting job really and I for one enjoy him in this role.

Leave a Reply

