Oldest Thing

In response to the Daily Prompt, I am writing about the oldest thing I own. That would probably be old photos of ancient ancestors from the early 1800s. I also have 1 piece of china from long dead maternal relatives: great-great-grandmothers, great-grandmothers. Not sure if they got them as wedding presents or not, or when they were bought but some date to mid-1800s. I might try to add a picture of them.

The photos of the ancestors are my great-grandmother’s grandparents or something, Clark Young and his wife. I believe Clark was born in Scotland, not sure about the wife. There are about 5-6 of these plates, with the name of the woman on the back. Those are probably the oldest things I have.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. moondustwriter
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 19:26:14

    I’m always amazed that some old photos hold their color better than more recent “old” photos

    Reply

Leave a Reply

