Technology and People

Heard a comment today “I’m not into computers, I like people.” I’ve had other comments subtly directed at me a long time ago that were similar, simply because it was easy for me to use and find my way around a computer. “Just because someone has high technical skills, and low personal skills does not mean they will get special treatment.” Why would I ask for special treatment simply because I liked using computers?

Having strong people skills and computer skills are not mutually exclusive. Computers can be a big bear to deal with, but so can people. A computer is simply a device to use, just like a car or telephone or television. When was the last time you knew someone who lived in a village in a hut?

Leave a Reply

