Camping

Went camping at Letchworth last weekend. Yeah!!! It was great fun. I am an old camper and traveller in the outdoors since I was knee high. I’ve never been camping at Letchworth, just have visited it. I went with a Meet up group and we had a good time I think. I love tent camping, though would do camper too maybe the pop up kind. I still do not have a camping stove. I want and try to cook over wood if I can. After all how many chances do I get to do that? It’s so primitive and simple, taking me back to how we have all lived until barely 100 years ago. Cooking and heating over open wood fires. Maybe coal fires for warmth. and I love sleeping on the ground. My campsite was a bit soggy in some places. But I pitched my tent (my dad’s old tent) in a grassy area under trees. It rained Friday night but I did not get wet at all. But the ground was not the most comfortable, roots around nor smooth and even ground. I found a better spot on Sat night and was fine. I wish I had a friend to go camping with more often, every 2 months or so. Male or female or a group of friends it doesn’t matter. yes I wish I could find a good camping boyfriend, one who likes to tent camp. I am a member of the Adirondack Club but I haven’t really met or gotten involved with it. For one thing I’m not a heavy duty hiker.
I went for a good long hike on Sunday, only in my sneakers, and I was sore in my ankle the next day, very stiff and sore. I hiked along the rim trail on my own. Found plastic bottles along the way which I picked up to dispose of properly. This is something my dad did, and I always remember that about him. He was very kind and gentle and caring. He was a boy scout when he was young too. Loved hiking and backpacking in the outdoors. Now I have his tent. I need better hiking boots to do hiking really.

Leave a Reply

